Reorganization meeting January 2, 2025

Meeting was called to order by Mayor Granstrom at 6:00 pm. Those present were C. MacAdams, J. Clotworthy, P. McConnell, S. Ostrom, C. Houchins. The Solicitor was Timothy Scaffiddi

#### **Public Notice:**

This meeting was advertised in accordance with the Open Public Meetings Act, and complies with all the laws therein.

**Old Business:** 

## **Unfinished Business for 2024**

**RESOLUTION NO. 168 -24** -Authorization to Establish and Implement a Fair and Open Process for the Selection of Solicitor Services and Cyber Security Services for the Borough of Brooklawn for the Year 2025

> Motion: C. MacAdams Second: C. Houchins Roll Call Vote: 5-0

# Motion to close all business for 2024

Motion: C. MacAdams Second: S. Ostrom All in favor: Carried

# New Business:

#### **Introduction of Guests**

#### Swearing in of Council Members:

Patricia McConnell Stacey Ostrom Bruce Darrow – unexpired term Mayor Jerry D. Granstrom – unexpired term

#### Nomination for President of Council

Motion: By C. Houchins – Nomination of C. MacAdams Second: S. Ostrom Roll Call Vote: 5-0 Oath of office of Council president by Mayor Granstrom

# **RESOLUTIONS:**

**Resolution by Title Only (Group 1)** 

- 1. Meeting nights for Borough for 2025
- 2. Temporary appropriations for 2025 operations
- 3. Adoption of By-Laws for 2025
- 4. Authority of 2025 Investments of Borough Funds
- 5. Signing of Instruments for the Payment of Money
- 6. Borough Depository for 2025
- 7. Interest Rates for Taxes & other Municipal Charges
- 8. Official Newspapers for 2025
- 9. Parks, Ballfields and Playgrounds
- 10. Cash Management Plan for 2025
- 11. Establish Borough Office Hours for 2025
- 12. Establish Rates for Police Services & Equipment
- 13. Establish OPRA Hours for 2025
- 14. Establish Rates for Fire Services & Equipment
- 15. Establish Rates for Services and Equipment for DPW

Motion: C. MacAdams Second: S. Ostrom Roll Call Vote: 5-0

#### **Resolution by Title Only (Group 2)**

- 16. Appointment of Planning Board Solicitor Andrew Viola
- 17. Appointment of Borough Auditor Bowman & Company
- 18. Appointment of Insurance Agent Conner Strong
- 19. Appointment of Bond Counsel Parker McCay
- 20. Appointment of Borough Engineer Bryson and Yates
- 21. Appointment of Borough Planner Kei Engineering
- 22. Appointment of Fund Commissioner Michael Mevoli

Motion: C. MacAdams Second: J. Clotworthy Roll Call Vote: 5-0

#### **Resolution by Title Only (Group 3)**

- 23. Appointment of Borough Administrator Ryan Giles
- 24. Appointment of Deputy Superintendent of Public Works Michael Ostrom
- 25. Appointment of Building Sub-Code Wayne Hans
- 26. Appointment of Plumbing Sub-Code & Inspector Fabrizio Flaiano

27. Appointment of Fire Sub-Code - Keith Knight

28. Appointment of Electrical Sub-Code & Inspector – Mark Laggy

29. Appointment of Deputy OEM Coordinators – James Anderson & Matt McKinney

30. Appointment of Police Clerk - Stacey Brewster

31. Appointment of Deputy Registrar - Todd Twichell

32. Appointment of Deputy Borough Clerk - Todd Twichell

33. Appointment of Alternate Registrar - Melissa Perry

34. Appointment of Borough Treasurer - Stacey Brewster

35. Appointment of Borough Homes Coordinator - Melissa Perry

36. Appointment of Water Utility Clerk - David Chorzelewski

37. Appointment of Construction Secretary - Melissa Perry

38. Appointment of Tax Collector – Nicole O'Hara

39. Appointment of Deputy Tax Collector - Ryan Giles

40. Appointment of Personnel Officer – Ryan Giles

41. Appointment of Code Enforcement Officer - Michael Ostrom

42. Appointment of Housing Inspector - Dennis Morina

43. Appointment of Borough Handyman - Daniel Toppin

44. Appointment of Construction Official - Mark Laggy

45. Appointment of Personnel Committee - Colin MacAdams, Patricia

McConnell, John Clotworthy

46. Appointment of Borough Plumber - Steve Robb

47. Appointment of Crossing Guards - Kathleen Maass, Elena Mitrakos,

Jeanette Multanski, Eugene Sullivan, Karen Ostrom, Anthony Ceraso, Keith Harris, Stacey Haubenstein

48. Appointment of Planning/Zoning Secretary - Melissa Perry

49. Appointment of Planning and Zoning Council Rep and Mayor Designee – Bruce Darrow and Christina Houchins

50. Appointment of Assistant Part-Time Deputy CFO - Alexander Ortiz

51. Appointment of Borough Groundskeeper -Harry Murray

52. Appointment of Part time Administrative Assistant - Abigail Giles

53. Appointment of Planning & Zoning Board Alternate – Brittany Henry

54. Appointment of Payroll Processing – Prime Point Services

# Council member J. Clotworthy abstained from Resolution #52 Council member S. Ostrom abstained from Resolution #24

Motion: P. McConnell Second: C. MacAdams Roll Call Vote: 5-0

# Swearing in of Borough Appointees by Mayor Granstrom

## **Council Committee Appointments for 2025**

Motion: J. Clotworthy Second: S. Ostrom Roll Call Vote: 5-0

#### **CONCLUSION OF NEW BUSINESS**

Approval of Payment of Bills:

Motion: P. McConnell Second: C. MacAdams Roll Call Vote: 5-0

**PUBLIC PORTION: (**Individuals must state their name and address for the record and respect the five-minute time limit while addressing the Governing Body)

Motion to open: S. Ostrom Second: P. McConnell All in Favor: Carried

Assemblyman William Spearman congratulated everyone and wished everyone a happy new year. Assemblyman Spearman stated on behalf of 5<sup>th</sup> Legislative District that they are here for us and anything we need to please reach out to him. Brittany Henry of 221. N. Hannevig Ave. inquired about the appointment of Borough Engineer which Administrator Ryan Giles addressed. Kathleen Maass 306 Christiana St. asked Administrator Giles to introduce the Solicitor, which Administrator Giles did.

> Motion to close: C. MacAdams Second: C. Houchins All in Favor: Carried

#### **Open to Council Members and Department Heads:**

Council member Clotworthy wished everyone a Happy New year and thanked everyone for having him on Council for another year. Council member McConnell wished everyone a happy new year and congratulated both Council member Ostrom and mayor Granstrom on their swearing in. Council member Houchins congratulated everyone and stated she is looking forward to the new year and the changes that will be coming. Council member Ostrom she is excited about the new year and is looking forward to the new projects. Council president MacAdams stated he is excited for the new year and congratulated everyone on their appointments. Colin stated he is excited about the progress of the water plant and asked Deputy Public Works Superintendent Mike Ostrom to give a general update on the progress. Council member MacAdams thanked Assemblyman Spearman for attending the meeting and looks forward to working together. Assemblyman Spearman gave an update on the funding for the flooding problem and bulkhead project. Mayor Granstrom thanked Assemblyman Spearman for his help. Mayor Granstrom thanked the outgoing Engineer and Solicitor for their years for service to the Borough of Brooklawn. Mayor Granstrom wished everyone a happy new year and congratulated everyone on their appointments. Administrator Giles congratulated everyone that was sworn in and stated his door is always open and he looks forward to the new year.

> Motion to adjourn: P. McConnell Second: J. Clotworthy All in favor: Carried

Next meeting (worksession) scheduled for January 15, 2025